Everything all at once

Day Trip 8.28.15-8

We’ve been in country for a week now and everything seems to be becoming normal already. The constant buzzing of the moped horns, the constant threat of death by moped, and other non-moped related items are all becoming second nature quite quickly.

Vietnam is everything I’d hoped it would be. The people are so very kind and, while there is still a canyon of a language gap between us, they have been nothing but kind and inviting, without exception. The attached picture is of a Vietnamese woman making pottery in the traditional fashion. I said hello in her native tongue before I raised my camera and she flashed me the biggest smile and went back to work. She makes about 1,000 of those tiny little clay pots per day. Incredible.

So much about this place is breathtaking and I can’t wait to continue exploring it for the next 5 months. We start teaching next week and when we do this whole thing will really start to feel like the real deal, like I’m a genuine expat making my way in this foreign land and not just pretending to.

I’m excited to walk into my first classroom and hear a chorus of “hello, teacher!” with every eager eye on me. No doubt my heart will be pounding, but I feel like I’m exactly where I need to be right now. The peace of mind that comes with that trumps all the rest.

The beer here isn’t that bad, either.

Multiple modes of transportation cross paths in a traditional village about 25 kms outside Hanoi.

Multiple modes of transportation cross paths in a traditional village about 25 kms outside Hanoi.

2 responses to “Everything all at once

Leave a Reply

